Administrative Division  
  Communal Wildlife Concervancies  
  HIV/AIDS in Namibia  
  Foreign Relations  
  External Links  

Erongo Region  
Walvis Bay

Erongo is one of the 13 regions of Namibia. It comprises the Swakopmund magisterial district up to the Ugab River and includes Walvis Bay, Omaruru and Karibib magisterial districts. This region is named after Erongo mountain, a well known landmark in Namibia and in this area. All the main centres within this region are connected by paved roads.

In the west, Erongo has a shoreline on the Atlantic Ocean. On land, it borders the following regions:

  • Kunene - north
  • Otjozondjupa - east
  • Khomas - southeast
  • Hardap - south


The Omaruru, Karibib, and Okombahe/Uis/Tsubeses areas are all situated in a semi-arid farming region and have a homogenous farming pattern, which is mostly stock-raising. It also combines communal farming with commercial farming. The needs for production and marketing are therefore very similar and the farming community has a distinct mutual interest which distinguishes their area from the Okahandja or the Otjiwarongo areas whose needs are more centred around industrial farming.

Various mining operations occur within this region at places such as Navachab and on a smaller scale at places surrounding Uis and the desert area. Karibib also has a marble industry. Walvis Bay, fully incorporated into the Erongo Region in 1994, is the principal home of Namibia's fishing industry. Swakopmund and Langstrand are popular beach resorts; Arandis supports mining industry and Swakopmund boasts manufacturing.

This region, with its link to the coast of Namibia, is well developed. Facilities such as schools, hospitals and clinics, the supply of electricity and telecommunication services are, with a few exceptions, well established.


The region comprises six constituencies: Omaruru, Karibib, Brandberg, Arandis, Swakopmund, and Walvis Bay.

Other regions :

1. Caprivi 8. Ohangwena
2. Erongo 9. Omaheke
3. Hardap 10. Omusati
4. Karas 11. Oshana
5. Okavango 12. Oshikoto
6. Khomas 13. Otjozondjupa
7. Kunene